The Team of Feldenkrais Trainers

Educational Director Donna Ray, M.A., M.F.T.

is a highly knowledgeable, internationally known Feldenkrais Trainer. Her experience includes more than 30 years of teaching. Donna has a Master's degree in Psychology, is licensed as a Marriage, Family and Child Therapist and she integrates her interdisciplinary expertise in her teaching. In-depth knowledge of Interpersonal Neurobiology, Mindfulness Training, Ericksonian Hypnotherapy, EMDR and expressive arts informs her teaching.
For 35 years, Donna has maintained an active private practice working with infants to the elderly. She sees clients with neurological disorders, pain, anxiety, depression, PTSD as well as performance excellence issues.
Donna loves seeing people learn healthy ways of living that can transform their lives. Her students especially appreciate her warm presence, vitality, sensitivity and interdisciplinary competences.

Donna’s team is composed of highly experienced Feldenkrais trainers with outstanding knowledge:

Alan Questel, USA

is known for his clarity, creativity and down to earth style of teaching while bringing a depth of understanding, humor and gentle human perspective to learning the Method. He was trained by Dr. Feldenkrais and is the author of "Creating Creativity", creator of "Pregnant Pauses – Movement for Moms", as well as many Feldenkrais CDs. He has directed Feldenkrais Professional Training Programs worldwide and currently directs programs in Santa Fe, New Mexico.




Anastasi Siotas, MA, USA

is a Greek-Australian well known for his expertise in structural anatomy gained through studies and teaching in diverse fields such as marine cell biology, modern dance and biotensegrity. After moving to New York City in 1997 he studied at the Laban/Bartenieff Institute of Movement Studies, where he currently teaches Kinesthetic Anatomy. His unique approach to the Feldenkrais Method has been well received in the USA, Australia, China, Japan, Greece and Austria. Anastasi lives in NYC where he maintains a private practice.




Beatriz Walterspiel, Germany.

After her university studies, Beatriz experienced a variety of methods. She was educated in respiratory pedagogy (Prof. I. Middendorf) and movement work (Elsa Gindler) and between 1980 and 1983 she trained with Dr. Feldenkrais in the USA. Since then she has dedicated her professional life exclusively to this work and became a trainer in 1993. She has guided professional Feldenkrais Trainings in many countries all over the world, presently in Germany and Spain. Beatriz is known for her sensitive and precise way of leading a process of awareness and perception as well as independent thinking of her trainees.




Christoph Habegger, Austria

graduated from the Lewes (England) Training in 1999. His background as an actor and singer, trained at the Conservatory of Vienna, brought him to further educations in voice and breath studies. For 7 years, he was member of the faculty of the University of Music, Drama and Dance in Linz (Austria) and continues working with singers, actors and musicians. Christoph runs a center for somatic education in Vienna and teaches in Europe and Asia.





Elizabeth Beringer, USA

has been involved with the practice and development of the Feldenkrais Method for more than 40 years. She studied with Dr. Feldenkrais between 1976 and 1983 in both the US and Israel. Over the years she has practiced the Method in many different forms including founding and editing the Feldenkrais Journal, co-founding Feldenkrais Resources which promotes Feldenkrais educational programs worldwide, and establishing the Feldenkrais Institute of San Diego where she maintains her private practice. Elizabeth's perspective on the Method is informed by her practice of Aikido in which she holds a 6th degree black belt. Currently, she is actively involved with the training of Feldenkrais parctitioners and has directed Training Programs in Switzerland, France, Italy, and the United States.

Jerry Karzen, USA

studied with Moshé Feldenkrais in the USA and at the Feldenkrais Institute in Tel-Aviv from 1975-1983. During those years, he was Dr. Feldenkrais' travelling companion, secretary, and close friend. Jerry assisted in the editing of Dr. Feldenkrais' last two books (The Elusive Obvious and The Potent Self). For over 40 years, Jerry has been involved in Feldenkrais Training Programs and has been the Educational Director in over 40 Trainings all over the world. He has also served as President of the Feldenkrais Guild of North America and as the Executive Director of the Feldenkrais Foundation. Jerry is known for his clear and concise teaching, incorporating an open-ended, exploratory, and non-directive style.



Julie Casson Rubin, USA

is a graduate of the 1975-77 Feldenkrais Training Program in San Francisco taught by Dr. Feldenkrais and is thus one of the few teachers/practitioners to receive a diploma directly from him. Since 1977, Julie has maintained a private practice in San Francisco. From 1977 – 1988, Julie was a staff member at San Francisco General Hospital’s newly formed and pioneering Behavioral Medicine Clinic. In 1996, she was responsible for the introduction of the Feldenkrais Method to Kaiser Permanente's Health Education Department. From a small beginning this program has grown significantly, offering Feldenkrais classes to thousands of patients over the years and involving many more Feldenkrais teachers. Julie has been the Co-Educational Director, along with her husband Paul Rubin, of 18 Training Programs in the U.S., Taiwan, Australia, Switzerland, and Italy. She holds a degree in dance and physical education from San Francisco State University.


Scott Clark, UK.

Originally from New Mexico, Scott took a BSc in mathematics and then trained as a dancer. As an active dancer and performer, he came in touch with the work of Dr. Moshé Feldenkrais and enrolled in the first Feldenkrais Training Program in London, where he graduated in 1990. Scott now teaches the Feldenkrais Method in his private practice, as well as in international Training Programs. He plays the viola da gamba and as a Feldenkrais teacher he especially likes working with performing artists, musicians, dancers, and actors.



Optimal support for your learning

The Feldenkrais Institut Wien provides an educational staff for each training segment that consists of one Trainer, two Assistant Trainers and two Training Practitioners. That means that a minimum of five members on the pedagogical team will be present at all times to support your ideal learning process. Assistant Trainers have a minimum of five, usually ten, years of professional experience and have been accredited by the European Feldenkrais Training and Accreditation Board.
Training Practitioners are Feldenkrais teachers who have had a professional practice for at least five years. During the Training Program they will be giving individual lessons in Functional Integration.
With the daily presence of such a large team we ensure that:

  • all Trainees receive the attention they want;
  • female and male teachers are present at all times;
  • teachers can respond to Trainees’ needs in both English and German;
  • a variety of teaching styles enriches your learning experience.

Your group – a resource

In your Training Program the group itself is an important aspect of your learning process: All Trainees practice with each other, give each other feedback and interact in the truly special learning atmosphere of a Feldenkrais Training Program. In the course of the four years you receive a minimum of 12 individual lessons in Functional Integration. These lessons are given by Trainers, Assistant Trainers or the Practitioners who are active within the training context. The lessons are an important part of your learning experience.

Das Team – Feldenkrais Trainerinnen & Trainer

Educational Director Donna Ray, M.A., M.F.T.

ist eine hochkompetente, international bekannte Trainerin. Sie schöpft aus mehr als 30 Jahren Lehrerfahrung und hat einen Master in Psychologie. Sie ist in den USA eingetragene Psychotherapeutin und bringt ihre vielfältige interdisziplinäre Expertise in ihren Unterricht ein: Interpersonelle Neurobiologie, Mindfulness Training, Hypnotherapie nach Milton Erickson, EMDR und expressive Kunst bereichern ihren Unterricht.
Donna arbeitet seit 35 Jahren in ihrer Praxis mit Menschen aller Altersgruppen. KlientInnen kommen zu ihr mit neurologischen Störungen, Schmerzen, Angststörungen, Depressionen, posttraumatische Belastungsstörungen, ebenso mit Verbesserungswünschen im Hochleistungsbereich. Donna begleitet Menschen dabei, sich weiterzuentwickeln und einen gesunden Lebensstil zu finden.
Donna Rays SchülerInnen schätzen besonders ihre herzliche, angenehme Präsenz, ihre Lebensfreude, ihr Einfühlungsvermögen und ihre interdisziplinären Kompetenzen.

Donnas Team setzt sich aus exzellenten, international tätigen Feldenkrais TrainerInnen mit reichem Erfahrungsschatz zusammen:

Alan Questel, USA

ist bekannt für seine Klarheit, Kreativität und seinen unkomplizierten Unterrichtsstil, während er das Verstehen der Feldenkrais Methode voll Humor und Menschlichkeit ermöglicht. Alan Questel wurde von Dr. Feldenkrais ausgebildet, und er ist der Autor von "Creating Creativity" sowie "Pregnant Pauses – Movement for Moms" und zahlreichen Feldenkrais CDs. Er hat weltweit Feldenkrais Trainings geleitet und leitet derzeit Feldenkrais Trainings in Santa Fe, New Mexico.




Anastasi Siotas, MA, USA

ist ein griechisch-australischer Feldenkrais Lehrer, der für sein umfassendes Wissen in Anatomie bekannt ist, das er sich durch seine Beschäftigung mit Meereszellbiologie, modernem Tanz und Biotensegrity erarbeitet hat. 1997 übersiedelte er nach New York und studierte am Laban/Bartenieff Institut, wo er derzeit Kinästhetische Anatomie unterrichtet. Seinen Zugang zur Feldenkrais Methode unterrichtet er in den USA, Australien, China, Japan und Europa. Anastasi lebt in New York, wo er auch seine Praxis betreibt.




Beatriz Walterspiel, Deutschland

Nach abgeschlossenem Hochschulstudium machte Beatriz Walterspiel eine Ausbildung in Atempädagogik (Prof I. Middendorf) und Bewegungsarbeit (nach Elsa Gindler). In den Jahren 1980 – 1983 wurde sie in Amerika im Training unter der Leitung von Dr. Moshé Feldenkrais ausgebildet und arbeitet seit 1983 ausschließlich mit der Feldenkrais Methode. Beatriz ist seit 1993 Feldenkrais Trainerin und leitete in vielen Ländern Ausbildungen, derzeit in Deutschland und Spanien. Sie ist für ihre präzise und feine Arbeit bekannt, mit der sie die Wahrnehmungs- und Bewusstheitsprozesse sowie eigenständiges Denken der Trainees begleitet.




Christoph Habegger, Österreich

graduierte 1999 in der Feldenkrais Ausbildung in Lewes (England). Sein Hintergrund als Schauspieler und Sänger (Ausbildung am Konservatorium Wien) brachte ihn zu Weiterbildungen in Stimm- und Atempädagogik. Er war 7 Jahre lang Lehrender an der Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität für Musik, Schauspiel und Tanz in Linz und arbeitet weiterhin mit SängerInnen, SchauspielerInnen und MusikerInnen. Christoph leitet ein Zentrum für somatisches Lernen in Wien und unterrichtet in Europa und Asien.




Elizabeth Beringer, USA

ist seit mehr als 40 Jahren in die Praxis und Weiterentwicklung der Feldenkrais Methode involviert. Zwischen 1976 und 1983 lernte sie in den USA und in Israel direkt bei Dr. Feldenkrais und hat seither auf viele Arten gearbeitet, u.a. ist sie Gründerin und Herausgeberin des Feldenkrais Journal, hat Feldenkrais Resources mitbegründet und das Feldenkrais Institute of San Diego gegründet, wo sie ihre Praxis betreibt. Elizabeths Zugang zur Feldenkrais Methode ist eng mit ihrer Aikido-Praxis verknüpft (sie hat einen sechsten Dan). Sie hat Feldenkrais Trainings geleitet in der Schweiz, in Frankreich, Italien und den USA und ist weiterhin als Trainerin aktiv.



Jerry Karzen, USA

lernte 1975 – 1983 direkt bei und mit Dr. Feldenkrais, sowohl in den USA als auch im Feldenkrais Institut in Tel Aviv. In diesen Jahren war er Dr. Feldenkrais' Reisebegleiter, Sekretär und enger Freund. Jerry half dabei, Moshé Feldenkrais' letzte zwei Bücher zu editieren (The Elusive Obvious und The Potent Self ). Seit über 40 Jahren ist Jerry in Feldenkrais Trainings involviert, in mehr als 40 Trainings als pädagogischer Leiter. Er war Präsident der Nordamerikanischen Feldenkrais Gilde und Geschäftsführer der Feldenkrais Foundation. Jerry Karzen ist für seinen prägnanten Unterrichtsstil bekannt, der offen, explorativ und nicht-direktiv ist.



Julie Casson Rubin, USA

ist Absolventin des 1975 – 1977 Trainings mit Dr. Feldenkrais in San Francisco und ist somit eine der wenigen Lehrerinnen/Practitioner, die ihr Diplom direkt von Dr. Feldenkrais erhalten haben. Seit 1977 betreibt sie eine Praxis in San Francisco. 1977 – 1988 war Julie Mitarbeiterin der neuen und bahnbrechenden Behavioral Medicine Clinic des San Francisco General Hospital. 1996 war sie dafür verantwortlich, die Feldenkrais Methode ins Kaiser Permanente's Health Education Department zu bringen, das seither blüht und tausenden Patientinnen und Patienten zu Feldenkrais Stunden verholfen hat und viele weitere Feldenkrais LehrerInnen beschäftigt hat. Gemeinsam mit ihrem Mann Paul Rubin hatte Julie in bisher 18 Feldenkrais Trainings weltweit (USA, Taiwan, Australien, Schweiz und Italien) die pädagogische Leitung inne. Sie hat einen Abschluss in Tanz und Bewegungsunterricht von der San Francisco State University.

Scott Clark, UK

stammt aus New Mexico. Er hat einen BSc in Mathematik und wurde dann zum Tänzer ausgebildet. Als Tänzer und Performer lernte er die Methode von Dr. Feldenkrais kennen und bewarb sich im ersten Feldenkrais Training in London, wo er 1990 graduierte. Scott unterrichtet in seiner Praxis und international in Feldenkrais Trainings. Er spielt Viola da gamba und arbeitet als Feldenkrais Lehrer besonders gerne mit PerformerInnen, KünstlerInnen, MusikerInnen und SchauspielerInnen.




Optimale Begleitung beim Lernen

Das Feldenkrais Institut Wien sorgt dafür, dass in den Trainingssegmenten immer mindestens ein Trainer oder eine Trainerin, ein bis zwei Assistant Trainer und ein bis zwei Training Practitioner anwesend sind. Ein großes und kompetentes pädagogisches Team begleitet Sie durch Ihre Ausbildung.
Unsere Assistant TrainerInnen haben mindestens 10 Jahre Berufserfahrung und sind vom European Feldenkrais Training and Accreditation Board akkreditiert. Unsere Training Practitioner sind Feldenkrais LehrerInnen, die seit mindestens fünf Jahren eine eigene Praxis haben. Sie geben während der Ausbildung Einzelstunden in Funktionaler Integration. Durch diese tägliche Präsenz eines großen pädagogischen Teams wird sichergestellt, dass:

  • alle TeilnehmerInnen volle Aufmerksamkeit bekommen;
  • immer weibliche und männliche Lehrende anwesend sind;
  • immer Lehrende anwesend sind, die sowohl auf Deutsch als auch Englisch auf Anliegen von Trainees eingehen können;
  • und Lernen durch verschiedene Unterrichtsstile bereichert wird.

Ihre Gruppe – eine Ressource

In der Ausbildung ermöglicht Ihre Gruppe einen wichtigen Aspekt Ihrer Lernprozesse: Alle KollegInnen üben miteinander, geben einander Feedback und agieren gemeinsam in der kollegialen und freundlichen Lernatmosphäre eines Feldenkrais Trainings. Über die vier Jahre verteilt erhalten Sie als Trainee ein Minimum von 12 Einzelstunden in Funktionaler Integration. Diese werden von TrainerInnen, Assistant TrainerInnen bzw. Training Practitionern gegeben und sind integraler Bestandteil Ihres erlebenden Lernens.